How many different types of autism are there?

October 30th, 2007

Autisn is a name that describes a disease with many different levels of severity. There are several different names used to describe some of the different levels of severity.

Technically, there is one diagnosis that is Autism. However, many people refer to the Pervasive Developmental Disorders as disorders on the Autism Spectrum.

These include of course Autism, Rhetts Disorder, Pervesavie Developmental Disorder, Not Otherwise Specified, Stereotypic Movement Disorder, and Aspergers. There are more, and you could look up the DSM-IV-TR for the complete list.

The DSM IV criteria for Rett’s disorder

The DSM IV criteria for Asperger’s syndrome

Technorati :

Add to:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.